A Parent’s Worst Nightmare: Part Three

21 Nov

I am grateful and I feel blessed that as a parent my only real experience of terror was losing Ian at the ballpark. I think it would be pretty difficult to look forward to parenting if our mindset was fear of terror and I think it is certainly a valid concern. Which is why the person reading my book asked the question in the first place.

If some serious safety issue does occur with our kids a sense of terror may easily overwhelm us no matter how we are built. I was fortunate in that my terror was short lived and based on much of my own doing rather than a definitive experience. Terror is real and at some point and time it will probably be experienced by every parent. Making attempts to fully inform children, not haranguing them, on the front side of risky situations will lessen the frequency.

Leave a Reply

