Documenting Fatherhood: A Writers on Writing Article

17 Apr

In the recent weeks, I was fortunate enough to be featured on Writers on Writing, a recurring column by the Portland Book Review. As someone who would not consider themselves a natural writer, drafting my book was a lengthy process through which I often struggled. In “Documenting Fatherhood” I was able to discuss my journey both as a writer and as a father.

Writers on Writing Post“As I edited and rewrote (seemingly endlessly) I continued to change words and sentences while struggling not to lose my voice. This was a considerable challenge for me as I am not a natural writer. I had to dig down into the feelings at my core to re-connect with some of the initial emotions that I had I felt when the experience was occurring several years before, considering that my boys are now in their late 20s. This was a lot more challenging than I had expected. However, I felt this was the only way I could retain my original voice and still be able to tie it into my present-day understandings, which had the advantage of several years’ perspective. Once I felt I was able to achieve this I believed it could become the book I wanted it to be. Once I had the meat of the book in words, I shifted my focus to organizing the writing so it would be relatively simple to read that the audience could understand in a relatable frame of reference.”

Click here to read the full article.

Leave a Reply

