Book Excerpt: Prioritizing Love and Respect

21 Dec
 In preparation for the publishing of my book I have been posting weekly short excerpts. I hope you enjoy this sneak peek- and if you’re interested in ordering a copy for yourself, visit here! Many thanks to all you great supporters out there.
______________________________________________________________
I was coming to realize that the quality of our relationship depended on my ability and determination to express feelings of love and respect as my first response. This can be difficult to accomplish, especially when the child’s behavior is creating stress of which the child is unaware. I had a similar experience with Ian when he just had to have a certain pair of basketball shoes.We were in the mall and, although I’d told him he couldn’t have them, he wouldn’t let it go. Finally I stood him up in the middle of the mall and told him he was acting like a spoiled little —–! I realized immediately what I had done when he shriveled up and began to cry. I felt horrible and apologized immediately. I genuinely understood that I was wrong and I should have kept my commitment to loving and respecting him first. I had simply reached my limit. I’m sure many parents have had similar experiences. Apologizing when the situation warrants is not at all detrimental to the relationship dynamic and in fact can reinforce the bond of genuine love and respect.

Leave a Reply

