Excerpt from the Book: Just a Dad.

9 Nov

In preparation for the publishing of my book in the upcoming month, I will be posting weekly short excerpts. I hope you enjoy this sneak peek- and if you’re interested in pre-ordering, sign up to receive our emails at the top of this page, right side. Many thanks to all you great supporters out there.

I had to learn from scratch how to manage my time and the boys’ needs efficiently. While I was making their lunches in the morning, I was simultaneously on the phone getting my work and helper in gear. I communicated with the boys in short sentences—no time for elaborate discussions. Ian, homework…Max, bike key…don’t forget permission slip… The boys completely understood and didn’t feel the need to respond. They just did it. I had them up and out the door, completely dressed and gear in tow, in twenty minutes, max! I was unaware of it at the time, but this was the beginning of my training. I was learning how to communicate clearly without the additional tension or unnecessary and inefficient drama that comes from trying to make things perfect. There simply wasn’t time.

But above all, I didn’t want the complexity of daily life to jeopardize the quality of our relationship. Therefore, I chose a slightly different way and tried to embrace the chaos and rapid pace.

Leave a Reply

