Gratitude

13 Jan

Gratitude is a pretty amazing feeling. I’m not sure what really makes it such an important part of our life, but without it I imagine our lives would feel significantly less valuable.

I also believe that we have a plethora  of opportunities to express our gratitude. (I always like using the word “Plethora” ever since I heard it in Steve Martin’s movie “The Three Amigos”)

Most often it’s obvious, like when we are being honored or publicly praised. Some of the most meaningful experiences of gratitude happen in quieter ways.

I can remember times when I would be driving with my boys and a wave of gratitude would just appear. From where, I don’t know but I enjoyed it and embraced it like a warm shower. It felt good but I also didn’t expect it to necessarily last, so I tried to soak it up in the moment.

We can sit down and consciously drag gratitude up from within us based on the situation– or it can bubble up on its own given the right environment.

Take love for instance. No matter how gratitude gets to us, it’s something we should connect with as much as possible. It helps everyone to be more kind, more thoughtful, and more loving…I am sure of it.

3 Responses to “Gratitude”

  1. denny hagel January 20, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    I thoroughly enjoyed this article…your warm and kind spirit comes through your words. Thank you for sharing your insights, they are a great reminder of the true gifts in life…life, love and our children. Blessings~

    • scotthanley January 26, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Thank you, Denny. I always appreciate feedback and the knowledge that someone out there is taking in my words. I love your blog, and look forward to many more insightful posts.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Appreciation « - February 16, 2011

    […] The other day I was reviewing my book in preparation for its publication and I came upon the chapter about ‘appreciation’. This seemed relevant to my previous discussion about gratitude. […]

Leave a Reply

